The start of something new…

March 19, 2015.
A day of firsts.

I have exactly 30 days before my vacation to Florida and am not really thrilled with the prospect of being in a bathing suit in public right now. I joined a gym close to my office and have been going on my lunch hour a few times a week to do 30 minutes of cardio. I know that’s not going to get me where I want to be, but hey – it’s a start.

One of my main problems is that I know what I need to do, I just lack the self-motivation and accountability to actually do it. I started searching for a plan to get my diet on the right track and decided to give Whole30 a shot. It’s something that I was able to get my husband (mostly) on board with, doesn’t require extra expense, and it pretty cut and dry when it comes to the rules – all things that should make it easy to follow.

I woke up this morning excited to begin my new journey, but instantly began second guessing myself and wondering what I’d gotten myself into. I was trying to come up with ways to help keep me on track. I thought about keeping a food journal. I’ve tried it before – and to be honest – I tend to omit things that don’t look good on paper. So that’s out. I thought about coming up with a punishment for cheating, but I don’t want this to be a negative thing in my life. So what could I do to help keep me accountable?

I realized the most accountable I’ve ever been is when I’m part of a group or team that is helping cheer me on. That’s when I decided to blog my journey and hopefully get a few readers and followers to keep me inspired.

So here I am. Deciding to take on two things I’ve never really done before:

  • A strict dietary plan which cuts out all of my favorite foods (carbs, sugar, dairy).
  • And blogging. Documenting my life for the whole world to see.

Thanks for joining me on these new endeavors. I will try to keep it entertaining and informative, but most of all real. I’ll share my experiences with the Whole30 diet, but it won’t all be that. My family and life are pretty entertaining, too! Feel free to leave me comments and words of encouragement – Lord knows I’m going to need it!

Claire

5 thoughts on “The start of something new…

  1. Katie says:

    I adore you more and more all the time. You have my support 100%. Thanks for sharing your journey and I look forward to hearing more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

